Constituent meeting of stakeholders to set up of the Dniester national basin council

Posted on 16.11.2018

The above meeting resulted in the agreed composition of the Dniester basin council, consisting of 76 representatives of bodies related to water management of the Dniester basin, industry, education and science, agriculture, housing and communal services, as well as public organizations, government officials and other stakeholders.

Since now, the members of the basin council equally represent interests of the seven regions of Ukraine (Lviv, Ivano-Frankivsk, Ternopil, Chernivtsi, Khmelnitsky, Vinnitsa, Odesa). Each region has appointed its representative in the secretariat of the basin council.

Oleg Mandryk, a scientist, Vice-Rector for Scientific Work of Ivano-Frankivsk National Technical University of Oil and Gas was elected a Chairman of the basin council. Roman Mikhailiuk, Head of the Dniester Basin Water Board, was appointed a Deputy Head of the Council, and Andrei Fenyak, Deputy Head of the Dniester Basin Water Board, was elected a Head of the Secretariat.

More about the Dniester basin council here (in Ukrainian).